DIY Jewelry Cleaner

This is such an easy and quick project!  I got this “recipe” from the jeweler who set my engagement ring.

DIY Jewelry Cleaner “Recipe”

  • 3 parts non sudsy ammonia
  • 1 part water
  • 1 drop of any brand dish soap

Procedure

  • Put jewelry in the jar and shake for about 30 seconds
  • Remove with a baby toothbrush and scrub (optional) – this step is good for diamond rings or any jewelry with small nooks.  The baby toothbrushes have softer bristles which is better for delicate jewelry
  • Rinse with cold water and let air dry

NOTE: this is only for hard stones, gold and silver.  I can’t speak to any other type of jewelry, I’ve never put in costume jewelry or soft stones like pearls or opals.

That’s it!  I made my own by taking an old preserves jar and removing the label:

To remove the label I washed with cold water and the abrasive side of a sponge.  Then to get the glue off I used a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser and it came off pretty easily.  I’ve also used Goo Gone to remove labels and that works really well too (I just didn’t have any).

I was thinking about painting it but I realized the jar was very cute on its own.  I had made one for a friend that I painted the lid and put scrapbook stickers on it with her name.

I would show before and after pictures of jewelry that I cleaned with it, but my camera isn’t fancy enough to pick up those kinds of details.

I hope everyone is staying safe inside from Hurricane Sandy.  If you are bored and without power this is a perfect project to occupy some time!

Posted in DIY

One thought on “DIY Jewelry Cleaner

Leave a Reply

