No Sew Hemming

Hey everyone, it’s been a while.

This morning I did the easiest project ever – I hemmed without having to sew anything.  I had a skirt that was not only too long but it would roll up when I walked because of its awkward length.  I wanted to hem it but I didn’t want to pay a seamstress (the skirt only cost me $10!) and I don’t have a sewing machine (which I wouldn’t know how to use if I had one anyway).

I bought this no sew hem tape from fabric.com

Meven of the House: No Sew Hemming

This was the skirt I wanted to hem.  Step 1: Iron. Then decide how much you want to hem it.  Fold it over and do a quick iron so it is already folded the way you want it.

Meven of the House: No Sew Hemming

Once you have decided how much you want to hem, but pieces of tape and place them under the fold.  I cut pieces that were about 4 inches long.

IMG_0961

Meven of the House: No Sew Hemming

Press the iron on top of the fabric to bond the tape to both sides ( I didn’t remember to take a picture of this step but I think you can use your imagination as to what an iron looks like on a piece of fabric.)

The package said to hold the iron with no steam for 3 seconds and repeat until “bonded.”  After three seconds this is what I had (obviously not quite bonded) so I repeated two more times.  Note: make sure that you stick the hem tape as close to the end of the fold as possible.

Maven of the House: No Sew Hemming

The final product was perfect it stuck so well it’s like I got it hemmed by a seamstress and the whole process cost basically nothing.  I think I paid $1.50 for the hem tape and I only used about a foot of it.

Maven of the House: No Sew Hemming

If you do a quick side by side comparison you can see the difference – before I hemmed it the skirt had an awkward bottom part that flared out a little bit at the knees.  Now it is straight down.

Meven of the House: No Sew Hemming

Maven of the House: No Sew Hemming

The test was to wear the skirt and see if it lasted.  I wore it all day today and it stretched with the material and everything!

4 thoughts on “No Sew Hemming

  1. This is so helpful! I waste so much money on alterations and I have a bunch of pants and skirts sitting in my closet that are too long. Thank you Maven!

Leave a Reply

