CSA – First Week

I decided this year to join a CSA.  I got a split share with friends and so mine is only a half (I wanted to start out slow this year).  I got my first group of stuff this week.

  • 1 head of red leaf
  • 10 radishes
  • 2 scallions (so random)
  • a bunch of cilantro

\
IMG_1094

I did a lot of research before I got my veggies and learned the best way to deal with this produce is to properly wash it and store it.

I cut up the red leaf and then washed it numerous times in a salad spinner.  I considered buying veggie wash but after some online research I realized that a DIY version was cheaper and would have the same effect.  Via pintrest I found this blog post that says that wash fruit in 10 parts water 1 part vinegar.  I tried that with my lettuce and so we’ll see how that goes.

IMG_1097

After I washed it I dried it with the spinner and then left it sitting out to dry.  Then I put all that lettuce in 2 small mason jars with some paper towels.  I won’t really get to see how long it will last because we are probably eating most of the lettuce tomorrow night.

Next came the radishes.  The key to washing these was a vegetable brush, I didn’t even need my home made veggie wash.

413mD1xwJpL._SY300_

I bought this one from amazon and look at the before and after.  It made the radishes sparkle!

IMG_1100

So what am I going to make?

  • Lettuce – salad (nothing exciting)
  • Radishes – Radish chips
  • Cilantro – Vegetarian Burritos
  • Scallions – I don’t know I only have two so I’ll throw them in something

I love that the CSA forces me to make my meals around what is actually supposed to be growing.  This round was a little weak but I hear that CSA’s get really good in the middle of the summer.

🙂

2 thoughts on “CSA – First Week

  1. Shiniest radishes ever!!!

    What does CSA stand for? Community…. Salad…. Association? Crunchy Shiny Additions (to your fridge)? Can’t Stop Admiring (all my new vegetables)?

    I’m glad you’re filling my Hayley with delicious nutritious foods!

Leave a Reply

